

Stanford University, Lucile Packard Children's Hospital, 1st Floor Auditorium 725 Welch Rd, Palo Alto, CA 94304

San Francisco Bay Area Chapter of the AAPM 2016 YOUNG INVESTIGATORS SYMPOSIUM OF MEDICAL PHYSICS RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

11:30 AM-12:00 PM	Registration and Luncheon
12:00 PM-1:00 PM	Keynote Speaker – Luc Beaulieu, PhD, FAAPM
	Professor and Director, Université Laval Cancer Research Centre
	Director, CAMPEP Medical Physics Graduate Program
	Head of the Medical Physics Research Group, Axe Oncologie, CRCHUQ
1:00 PM – 2:15 PM	Postdoctoral Scholar Presentations
	1. Shiva Abbaszadeh, PhD (Stanford Radiology, Advisor: Levin)
	Title: A new generation small animal positron emission tomography
	system for molecular imaging discoveries
	2. Qian Wang, PhD (Stanford Radiation Oncology, Advisor: Pratx) Title:
	Performance Evaluation of 18F Radioluminescence Microscopy Using
	Computational Simulation
	3. Benjamin Spencer, PhD (UC Davis Radiology, Advisors: Badawi / Wang)
	Title: Evaluation of Kernel-Based Dynamic PET for Quantitative
	Parametric Imaging Using Phantom and Patient Data
	4. Hojin Kim, PhD (UCSF Radiation Oncology, Advisor: Chen)
	Title: One-step CT reconstruction for metal artifact reduction by a
	modification of penalized weighted least-squares (PWLS)
	5. Wei Zhang, PhD (UC Merced BioEng, Advisor: Li)
	Title: Multiple Pinhole Collimator Based Microscopic X-ray Luminescence
	Computed Tomography
2:15 PM - 2:30 PM	Coffee Break
2:30 PM – 3:30 PM	Resident Presentations
	1. Daniel Pinkham, PhD (Stanford Radiation Oncology, Advisor: Fahimian)
	Title: Development of Electromagnetically Guided High-Dose Rate
	Brachytherapy for Ablative Treatment of Lung Metastases
	2. Chithra Kumaran Nair, PhD (UC Davis Radiation Oncology, Advisor:
	Rong) Title: Tomotherapy to linac plan conversion: implementing a
	fallback procedure using Raystation
	3. Dae Yup Han, PhD (UCSF Radiation Oncology, Advisor: Ma)
	Title: Dose variability via brain metastases resection cavity shrinkage
	modeling for I-125 and Cs-131 interstitial LDR seed implantations
	4. Justin Phillips, PhD (UCSF Radiation Oncology, Advisor: Morin)
	Title: Implementation of a Modulated-Arc Total Body Irradiation (TBI)
	Technique Using the RayStation Treatment Planning System

AGENDA

3:30 PM-4:30 PM	Graduate Student Presentations – Part I
	1. Cesare Jenkins (Stanford Radiation Oncology and Department /
	Mechanical Engineering, Advisor: Lei Xing) Title: Real-time optical
	visualization of ionizing radiation for treatment monitoring and
	autonomous performance of quality assurance measurements
	2. Kuang Gong (UC Davis, Biomedical Engineering, Advisor: Qi)
	Title: Designing a compact high performance brain PET scanner— simulation study
	3. Abdullah Refaey (UCD Radiology, Advisor: Badawi)
	Title: 2nd Generation ultra-high resolution PET detector for in vivo
	imaging of human extremities
	4. Vishal Samboju (UCSF Radiation Oncology, Advisor: Adam Cunha) Title:
	Evaluation of Speed Displacement Errors in Prostate Brachytherapy:
	Steps Toward a Patient Specific Ultrasound Calibration Correction
4:30 PM - 4:45 PM	Coffee Break
4:45 PM - 5:45 PM	Graduate Student Presentations – Part II
	5. Xinyi Y. Zhou (UCB Bioengineering, Advisor: Conolly) Title: In Vivo
	Magnetic Particle Imaging of Lung Perfusion in Rats - Towards High
	Sensitivity and High Contrast Non-Radiation Based Diagnostics for
	Pulmonary Embolism
	6. Elaine Yu (UCB/UCSF Bioengineering, Advisor: Conolly)
	Title: Next Generation Magnetic Particle Imaging (MPI) for Cancer Detection
	7. Zhi Wei Tay (UCB/UCSF Bioengineering, Advisor: Conolly)
	Title: Deep Spatially Selective Magnetic Nanoparticle Heating and
	Imaging with Magnetic Particle Imaging
	8. John Ready (UCB/LBL Nuclear Engineering, Advisor: Vetter)
	Title: Prompt gamma imaging for proton beam range verification: initial
	measurements with a multi-knife-edge slit collimator
5:45 PM - 6:00 PM	Award Announcements
6:00 PM - 6:30 PM	Brief Tour of Stanford Radiation Oncology
	Tour Director: Titania Juang, PhD (Resident, Stanford Radiation Oncology)

SFBA AAPM Organizing Committee:

Program Directors: Benjamin Fahimian, PhD & Stanley Benedict, PhD Treasurer: Cynthia Chuang, PhD President: Olivier Morin, PhD Ex-President: Julian Perks, PhD Board Representative: Stanley Benedict, PhD